Storm Warning by Susan E Birch.



She listened quietly
To the usual tirade
Of petty disappointments
And the expected parade
of peevish digs and slights
Hurled with venom and spite
At all he had in his sights.
Ah but then it came, at last,
To her turn, as expected.
His finale, his blast
of ‘special-brand’ invective.

The tune was cracked and old
She had listened half her life
As he told and retold
How she failed him as a wife.
He needed someone to blame,
Someone to subjugate
To hide and mask his shame.
A target for his hate
To hide his futility
And to substantiate
His need to elevate
By grinding her down
To where he could dominate.

Unaware that she had roused
From years of mind-reeling
non-feeling in which she’d been housed.
He sipped his tea.
The vessel too fine and small,
Fit only for a passing squall.
He caught her alien glance
As their marital life darkened
With clouds of no chance
And brief lightning flashes
of the Final solution.

© Susan E Birch – 2014

About Daniel Kemp

Daniel Kemp is a seventy-four-year-old member of The Society of Authors. He is also a bestselling writer. He writes stories that appeal to those who like challenging themselves to solve mysteries that are set out before their eyes. His introduction to the world of espionage and mystery happened at an early age when his father was employed by the War Office in Whitehall, London, at the end of WWII. However, it wasn’t until after his father died that he showed any interest in anything other than himself! On leaving academia he took on many roles in his working life: a London police officer, mini-cab business owner, pub tenant and licensed London taxi driver, but never did he plan to become a writer. Nevertheless, after a road traffic incident left him suffering from PTSD and effectively—out of paid work for four years, he wrote and self-published his first novel —The Desolate Garden. Within three months of publication, that book was under a paid option to become a $30 million film. The option lasted for six years until distribution became an insurmountable problem for the production company. All ten of his novels are now published by Next Chapter Publishing Company which has added an edition titled The Heirs And Descendants Collection, which holds all four books of that series, alongside an edition titled The Lies And Consequences Collection which contains all four volumes of that series. He is the recipient of rave reviews from a prestigious Manhattan publication and described as—the new Graham Green—by a highly placed executive of Waterstones Books, for whom he did a countrywide tour of book signing events. He has also appeared on 'live' television in the UK publicising his first novel. He likes to write quotes and it's on Goodreads where you can find them--- An example of these quotes opens his novel--Once I Was A Soldier:--There is no morality to be found in evil. But to recognise that which is truly evil one must forget the rules of morality. Less
This entry was posted in Author/Writer, Raconteur. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s