#Bookreview – The Watson Letters: Volume 2: Not the 39 Steps

Robbie's inspiration

Book reviews

What Amazon says

Holmes and Watson continue their fight against crime in a not quite Post-Victorian, steampunk parallel universe.

My review

I thoroughly enjoyed this second book in The Watson Letters series. I find Colin Garrow’s humour hilarious and very English which appeals hugely to me. The book covers three story lines with the first taking place in Scotland after Sherlock and Watson are conned by a writer, Mr Hanney, to travel there to help him save the plot of his new book, The 39 Steps, from theft by other writers. On arrival in Scotland, the pair are soon pulled into an unfortunate situation with Professor Moriarty, Sherlock’s arch enemy and a madman intent on world domination.

The second part of the novella is set at the peculiar and creepy, Comfort Farm, where the two detectives are summonsed by the daughter of an old friend of Watson, to investigate the…

View original post 185 more words

About Daniel Kemp

Daniel Kemp is a seventy-four-year-old member of The Society of Authors. He is also a bestselling writer. He writes stories that appeal to those who like challenging themselves to solve mysteries that are set out before their eyes. His introduction to the world of espionage and mystery happened at an early age when his father was employed by the War Office in Whitehall, London, at the end of WWII. However, it wasn’t until after his father died that he showed any interest in anything other than himself! On leaving academia he took on many roles in his working life: a London police officer, mini-cab business owner, pub tenant and licensed London taxi driver, but never did he plan to become a writer. Nevertheless, after a road traffic incident left him suffering from PTSD and effectively—out of paid work for four years, he wrote and self-published his first novel —The Desolate Garden. Within three months of publication, that book was under a paid option to become a $30 million film. The option lasted for six years until distribution became an insurmountable problem for the production company. All ten of his novels are now published by Next Chapter Publishing Company which has added an edition titled The Heirs And Descendants Collection, which holds all four books of that series, alongside an edition titled The Lies And Consequences Collection which contains all four volumes of that series. He is the recipient of rave reviews from a prestigious Manhattan publication and described as—the new Graham Green—by a highly placed executive of Waterstones Books, for whom he did a countrywide tour of book signing events. He has also appeared on 'live' television in the UK publicising his first novel. He likes to write quotes and it's on Goodreads where you can find them--- https://www.goodreads.com/quotes/list/72612151 An example of these quotes opens his novel--Once I Was A Soldier:--There is no morality to be found in evil. But to recognise that which is truly evil one must forget the rules of morality. Less
This entry was posted in Author/Writer, Raconteur. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #Bookreview – The Watson Letters: Volume 2: Not the 39 Steps

  1. Thank you for sharing, much appreciated, Danny.

  2. Daniel Kemp says:

    My pleasure, Robbie 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s