The Seed Or A Passage Through Life

By The Wayside
I am the winter’s cold. I am the stars at night.
Earthly stones drag me down and I thirst for light.
I struggle to grow and I’m too weak to fight.
My growth is stunted. I’ll gain no height.

There’s no depth to my feelings. I’m shallow and vain.
I’ll flourish until there is no more to gain.
My resolve grows weaker I can feel it drain.
As people shun me, no longer viewing my shame.

Thorny Ground
I’m swamped by others who crowd me out.
My voice is too feeble, no one hears me shout.
Life is all around me, but I’m suffering from drought.
I want to be noticed, but I’m racked by doubt!

The Good Soil
I am the sky in summer. I am the moon that shines.
I am all that’s good. I would grace any shrine.
I’m as mighty as a stallion. I’m as strong as a vine.
I’ll ripen with your care and I’ll become your wine.

© 2018 Daniel Kemp All rights reserved

About Daniel Kemp

Daniel Kemp’s introduction to the world of espionage and mystery happened at an early age when his father was employed by the War Office in Whitehall, London, at the end of WWII. However, it wasn’t until after his father died that he showed any interest in anything other than himself! On leaving academia he took on many roles in his working life: a London police officer, mini-cab business owner, pub tenant and licensed London taxi driver, but never did he plan to become a writer. Nevertheless, after a road traffic accident left him suffering from PTSD and effectively—out of paid work for four years, he wrote and self-published his first novel —The Desolate Garden. Within three months of publication, that book was under a paid option to become a $30 million film. The option lasted for five years until distribution became an insurmountable problem for the production company. All seven of his novels are now published by Creativia with the seventh—The Widow’s Son, completing a three book series alongside: What Happened In Vienna, Jack? and Once I Was A Soldier. Under the Creativia publishing banner, The Desolate Garden went on to become a bestselling novel in World and Russian Literature in 2017. The following year, in May 2018, his book What Happened In Vienna, Jack? was a number one bestseller on four separate Amazon sites: America, UK, Canada, and Australia.  Although it's true to say that he mainly concentrates on what he knows most about; murders laced by the mystery involving spies, his diverse experience of life shows in the short stories he writes, namely: Why? A Complicated Love, and the intriguing story titled The Story That Had No Beginning. He is the recipient of rave reviews from a prestigious Manhattan publication and described as—the new Graham Green—by a highly placed employee of Waterstones Books, for whom he did a countrywide tour of book signing events. He has also appeared on 'live' television in the UK publicising that first novel of his. He continues to write novels, poetry and the occasional quote; this one is taken from the beginning of Once I Was A Soldier There is no morality to be found in evil. But to recognise that which is truly evil one must forget the rules of morality.
This entry was posted in Author/Writer, Raconteur and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Seed Or A Passage Through Life

  1. Mick Canning says:

    Really like this, Daniel.

  2. Daniel Kemp says:

    That’s very kind, Mick 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s